Wood Business

Industry News News
FPAC responds to FSC’s new certification standard

June 4, 2019  By FPAC

The Forest Stewardship Council (FSC) formally released its new National Forest Stewardship Standard for Canada. Forest Products Association of Canada (FPAC) embraces third party certification and participated in FSC’s consultation process which was used to develop the new requirements. Today’s announcement marks the end of FSC’s multi-year consultation process with a number of key partners.

“Canada’s forest product companies comply with hundreds of federal and provincial laws and regulations every day. We are among the most strictly regulated forestry sectors in the world,” noted FPAC President and CEO Derek Nighbor. “Even though third party certification is voluntary in Canada, 100 per cent of FPAC’s member operations are certified by FSC, the Sustainable Forestry Initiative (SFI), or the Canadian Standards Association (CSA). This support of independent certification systems is another reason why Canada is known as a world leader in sustainable forest management. We and all Canadians can take great pride in that.”

The FSC standard is one of three voluntary programs used in Canada that has been endorsed by Canada’s Council of Forest Ministers (CCFM), all of which set high environmental, social, and economic thresholds for sustainable forest management.

In the coming days, FPAC will be working with its members to review FSC’s new forest management requirements, as well as the changes taking place related to FSC chain-of-custody certification. Significant changes are expected between July and December, which will add to the complex transition that FSC users in Canada are embarking on.


Print this page


Stories continue below