Wood Business

Industry News News
Top sustainability leaders across Canada honoured at Clean50 Summit 7.0

Sept. 22, 2017 – The release of the 2018 “Canada’s Clean50” list celebrates the accomplishments of 50 sustainability leaders in 16 widely different categories. The Lifetime Achievement honouree list is led by a posthumous award for Sharkwater film maker Rob Stewart. Others include, Federal Environment & Climate Change Minister, Catherine McKenna, Nishnawbe Aski Nation Deputy Grand Chief Derek Fox and Vancouver MP Joyce Murray. Many of 2018 Clean50 champions have achieved measurable success in fighting climate change while helping Canada shift towards a low carbon economy and building a more prosperous future. 

Almost 600 nominations were considered before the Clean50 and 10 Emerging Leaders were selected. Gavin Pitchford, the Clean50 Executive Director and Delta Management Group CEO observed, “While the contribution of some winners such as Minister McKenna’s enormous contribution to protecting the environment, pricing carbon and pivoting Canada towards a much cleaner energy path are more high profile – every person on the Clean50 list has made substantive and significant contributions. Excellent examples include two of our R&D winners, who have made headlines in scientific circles around the world for the groundbreaking ways they capture carbon in algae, and return plastic to its virgin state.”  

Mr. Pitchford went on say, “Selecting Clean50 winners becomes more exciting each year. We have the luxury of considering nominations from across the country with an amazing range of backgrounds. For instance, this year winners include tidal power pioneers from Nova Scotia, an Alberta oil company executive, a cricket farmer from Ontario, BC civic leaders who are revolutionizing our approach to waste, and scientists and CEOs from Quebec and Ontario who are capturing carbon.”

On September 28, over 110 Clean50 incoming and alumni members will gather in Toronto for the Clean50 Summit 7.0. Working sessions with 10 different groups of thought leaders will consider solutions to climate change related issues, seeking to speed collaboration on solutions that can be implemented before Canada’s 175th birthday. The sessions are followed by dinner and awards.

This year’s award winners will receive plaques fashioned in-part from the “Maple Leaf Forever” tree, reputed to have inspired Alexander Muir to pen Canada’s unofficial anthem in 1867.

Past honourees include Premiers Kathleen Wynne of Ontario, Phillippe Couillard of Quebec and Rachel Notley of Alberta, Vancouver Mayor Gregor Robertson, and Galen G. Weston of Loblaw.

See the full list of 2018 honourees.

About the Clean50:

Founded in 2011 by Gavin Pitchford and Delta Management Group, the leading sustainability, CSR and clean tech search firm in Canada, Canada’s Clean50 Awards and Clean50 Summit provides a means of bringing together thought leaders and environmental experts to tackle sustainability problems, and to recognize and promote their accomplishments in the hopes of inspiring action by others. This is the seventh iteration of the awards, and they are considered the leading individual award for environmental and sustainability focused achievement in Canada.

September 22, 2017  By Clean50

Print this page


Stories continue below