Wood Business

Industry News News
CIF-IFC announces 2022 National Award Recipients recognizing accomplishments in forestry

September 26, 2022  By CFI Staff

The 2022 award recipients. Photo: CIF-IFC.

The Canadian Institute of Forestry/Institut forestier du Canada (CIF-IFC) is pleased to announce the 2022 CIF-IFC National Award recipients.

“Each year, the CIF-IFC presents a number of awards in recognition of outstanding and unique accomplishments to forestry in Canada,” said Mark Pearson, executive director, CIF-IFC. “Recipients may earn distinction through demonstration of exceptional achievements in the field of forestry.”

The awards were presented at the 2022 CIF-IFC Annual National Awards Ceremony on September 12 in Sault Ste. Marie, Ont.

The CIF-IFC 2022 National Award recipients are:


Forest Capital of Canada (Designation 2023) – Greater Fredericton Area (City of Fredericton), N.B.

Canadian Forestry Achievement Award – Murray Woods of McKellar, Ont.

Canadian Forestry Scientific Achievement Award – Dr. Nicholas Charles Coops of Vancouver, B.C.

Canadian Forest Management Group Achievement Award – Petawawa Research Forest

Presidential Award (Posthumous) – Christopher (Chris) A. Lee of Ottawa, Ont.

James M. Kitz Award – Fraser Smith of Peterborough, Ont.

Schlich Memorial Prize – Abigail Leaist of Sault Ste. Marie, Ont.

Volunteer Recognition Award – Michael Doig of Steinbach, Man. and Jeff Fera of Sault Ste. Marie, Ont.

Section of the Year – Maritimes Section

Tree of Life Awards – Jim A. Taylor of the Newfoundland and Labrador Section; Judy Hall of the Northwestern Ontario Section; Jean MacIsaac of the Northwestern Ontario Section; Dr. M.A. (Peggy) Smith of the Northwestern Ontario Section; Jack Harrison of the Lake of the Woods Section; Bob Winship of the Rocky Mountain Section; and Alex Drummond of the Rocky Mountain Section

Golden Year Club – Blair A. Vessie of the Maritimes Section; James M. Stephen of the Vancouver-South Coast Section; Floyd Wilson of the Saskatchewan Section; and Kenneth Ross Creelman of the Maritimes Section

Canadian Institute of Forestry Award of Excellence – Jen Dickman, Communications Manager

For more info: CIF-IFC.

Print this page


Stories continue below