Wood Business

Industry News News
CIF-IFC honours outstanding forestry achievements with 2023 National Awards

October 2, 2023  By CIF-IFC

Photo supplied.

The Canadian Institute of Forestry (CIF) has announced the 2023 CIF-IFC National Award recipients.

“Each year, the CIF-IFC presents a number of Awards in recognition of outstanding and unique accomplishments to forestry in Canada,” said Mark Pearson, CIF-FIC executive director. “Recipients may earn distinction through demonstration of exceptional achievements in the field of forestry.”

The awards were presented at the 2023 CIF-IFC Annual National Awards ceremony on Sept. 25 at the Vancouver Island Conference Centre in Nanaimo, B.C.

Below are the CIF-IFC 2023 National Award recipients:

  • Forest Capital of Canada Designation for 2024 – Mackenzie Region of Northwest Alberta
  • Canadian Forestry Achievement Award – Daniel Macmaster of Midway, B.C.
  • Canadian Forestry Scientific Achievement Award – Richard Hamelin of Vancouver, B.C.
  • Canadian Forest Management Group Achievement Award – Forest Management and Wetland Stewardship Initiative
  • Presidential Award – Edward Czerwinski of Nasonworth, N.B.
  • James M. Kitz Award –Nicholas Dormaar of Prince George, B.C.
  • Schlich Memorial Prize – Ashlynne Moore of Courtenay, B.C.; Mackenzie Guild of Pemberton, B.C.
  • Gender Diversity and Inclusion Award – Apsana Kafle of Edmonton, Alta.
  • Gender Diversity and Inclusion Group Achievement Award – Canfor Corporation – Prince George Woodlands Division
  • International Forestry Achievement Award – Terry Sunderland of Vancouver, B.C.
  • Prince of Wales Award for Sustainable Forestry – Ryan Wilkie of Thunder Bay, Ont.
  • Volunteer Award – Andres Enrich of Nanaimo, BC; and Gregory Herringer of Port Alberni, B.C.
  • Section of the Year – Vancouver Island Section
  • Golden Year Club – David Haley of the Vancouver Island Section; Dennis I. Anderson of the Vancouver Island Section; Bruce Dancik of the Rocky Mountain Section; Terry Schwan of the Southern Ontario Section; Gordon Murray of the Algonquin Section; Dr. Ronald D. Ayling of the Ottawa Valley Section; Rodney Smith of the Ottawa Valley Section; and Steven D. Talbot of the Maritimes Section
  • Tree of Life Award – Scott Formaniuk of the Rocky Mountain Section; Trevor Stanley of the Manitoba Section; Douglas Paul Drysdale of the Southern Ontario Section; and Eric Young of the Newfoundland and Labrador Section
  • Canadian Institute of Forestry Award of Excellence – Natasha Machado, Director of Programs and Initiatives, CIF-IFC; Tanisha Rajput, Forest Education Coordinator, CIF-IFC; and Sharon Yang, Forest Science Program Coordinator, CIF-IFC

Print this page


Stories continue below